Transparent Mask

I see my
friends when I love them. Love is not blind,

It hides nothing.
I see them warts and all.

Even at my
most besotted my wakeful mind

Sees and
notes with eyes undimmed. My call

Is not to
help you hide or build your wall

But to see
and love what you most fear I’ll find.

I will not
pretend. I will see unafraid. The fall

Denies
perfection. May as well be resigned

To scraggly
teeth and extra pounds, why try

To be a
false ideal? You mock your own face

And silly
quirks, far worse than I could ever do.

All my
friends have cracks, and so do I,

And yet we
muddle on by Love’s own grace.

Hide your
cracks? I love them! They are you.

1 Comment

What do you think? Join the discussion.

