Why I Like Mondays

I know most people aren’t huge monday fans, and I respect that. However, I personally like Monday morning. It is probably my favorite morning of the week, partially because I have so much more energy on Monday than on any of the subsequent days of the weeks. My monday workout is usually the best workout of the week because I am fresh from the weekend, my muscles have rested enough to be clean and limber, but not long enough to start getting lazy and stiff. Injuries, aches and pains from the week prior are either gone or at least starting to fade (I take what I can get. I’m not 19 anymore). I can hit my “big 6” strength movements with an intensity that I know I will have a harder time mustering on Thursday or Friday.

Another reason I love Mondays is because they are the start of another week of the Divine Office. I think of Psalm 84 as the “Monday Morning Psalm” just as Psalm 51 is the “Friday Morning Psalm.”

Morning prayer in the Arizona desert.
Morning prayer in the Arizona desert.

1 How lovely is your dwelling place,
    O Lord of hosts!
2 My soul longs, yes, faints
    for the courts of the Lord;
my heart and flesh sing for joy
    to the living God.

3 Even the sparrow finds a home,
    and the swallow a nest for herself,
    where she may lay her young,
at your altars, O Lord of hosts,
    my King and my God.
4 Blessed are those who dwell in your house,
    ever singing your praise!
                                                   Psalm 84:1-4.

I love this Psalm because it reminds me of Sunday Mass, which is truly the highpoint of the week. No matter how the week goes, no matter what happens, or how busy I get, how little time I have for Jesus; even if I don’t get to Mass during the week, even if I don’t get to read the Bible other than the Liturgy of the Hours, I can still look forward to Sunday. I will get time to see Jesus, to visit Him, to share my family with Him and Him with my family. This is what I look forward to in the midst of the busiest week, and what I remember as I begin Monday’s work and school.

This is why Psalm 84 is the perfect Monday morning Psalm, because it reminds me that we are in exile. We are supposed to be. It reminds me that the longing to live in “the house of the Lord” is not a bad thing, it is to be expected. It is a holy longing that will not be fulfilled completely in this world, but only in the next. That longing is not to be extinguished or buried by the business of the week. Instead, I am to seek to serve God precisely in the day to day activities of my state in life, as a husband, father and student.

Psalm 84 reminds me that I don’t want to be content and satisfied with this life. I want to be hungry and longing and looking forward to the union with My Lord on Sunday, drawing strength from it for the rest of the week and ordering the rest of my week towards it.

Ad Majorem Dei Gloriam!

What do you think? Join the discussion.

