Nada te Turbe

Neither depths nor heights,
Neither length nor breadth,
Neither pleasure nor pain,
Nothing can separate
The ocean from its bed.
Nada

I shall not be perturbed,
I shall not be turbulent,
I shall not be disturbed,
Neither shall my soul be turbid anymore.
Nada te Turbe

Once I looked up to see the point
Of an iron spike in a sinister hand
Stabbing down upon me. I shook with fear
And thrashed and splashed away, but the spike passed
Through my heart and left not a single mark.
Nada.

And now I rest in limpid clarity
For well I know no evil in the world
Can harm me. No knife in the world
Can harm the sea.
Nada te Turbe.

I rest undisturbed, calm, at peace
Salt made sweet and ever filled
By water flowing from the Temple’s side
Opened by a Lance.
Transparent, the all but infinite sea He holds
In the hollow of His hand. And I drip
Through the hole left by the spike,
Mingled,
Lost in His Blood.
Nada te Turbe.

 

What do you think? Join the discussion.

